Some Atlanta Poly Websites… and a Serious Question I have for You

Here are a few websites that are for the poly community here in Atlanta, GA:

www.atlantapolyamory.org 

This website is dedicated to functions and events for poly people to get together and have fun (like movies, bbqs, potlucks, etc.). I’m pretty sure this does NOT include get together orgy fests (and if it does, they certainly aren’t going to say so on the website)! From what I can tell, you can go to a meet-up for free. If you wish to become a member there is a charge for that. I’m not too sure what the benefits of being a member are.

www.atlantapolyweekend.com 

Atlanta Poly Weekend is held in March. The hotel for 2013 will be in the Perimeter Dunwoody area. There are panels and discussions about allthings poly, dances, dinners, and other events to meet, mingle, and have a great weekend with other poly and non-traditional relationship people. I have actually submitted a request to be a guest speaker for next year! I’m not sure if they’ll accept my application, but it would be really really cool if they do! I want to discuss education and advocacy through media- like my blog here! I also want to talk about poly rights (health, marital, equality and such). I think it’d be awesome to talk about the importance of effective open communication, as well as coming out to others about your way of loving.

http://polymediaassociation.com/polycontact.html 

This site is for people in the media to find poly people willing to openly talk about polyamory, being an ethical slut, and other non-traditional forms of relationships. Obviously as a marginalized group, there aren’t too many of us that are overly comfortable with showing our faces and sharing our stories when we have to fear what family, friends, the law, and our bosses think about us (just to name a few). This site is also for us to register, if we so wish, to be available for interviews, talk shows, radio spots, etc. So that’s pretty cool. Apparently there’s a big demand for us!

I think it would be awesome if I could provide an educated, well spoken, confident depiction of my loving partnerships. But I would first have to talk to Scot and Alan and find out what they would think of it. I also have to stronglyyyy consider the pros and cons of doing so and how it would affect my life and future. It’s something I am INCREDIBLY interested in.

What do you think dear readers? Do you think I should?

Hugs and kisses, Polyleigh

3 thoughts on “Some Atlanta Poly Websites… and a Serious Question I have for You

  1. That sounds awesome! But I’m a wuss… I’ve never had a job where I couldn’t be fired for it (based on the employment agreements I signed on starting). It’s a risk for sure. I read somewhere on the WordPress blogosphere about the incredible amount of social privilege it would take to be able to come out. Sort of like how the classically represented popular cheerleader can be into Magic the gathering and it’s awesome, but if anyone even knows what the game is, their head gets rammed in a locker. I think you just have to take an objective look at your social privilege and see if you can whether a storm if it happens, and of course… make sure Alan & Scott have a truly equal say in it, and that they could whether the storm too. You don’t wanna sweep them up in your excitement, and then have them regret it later.

    On the other hand, how awesome is it to represent your beliefs in an educated positive way?! And how many chances do you really get to make a social difference, and change the perspectives of a wider audience? It’s alluring, to be sure…

    • I’ve been talking with both Scot and Alan about it. We’re trying to decide if it’s something I can/should do; as well as what they’re comfortable with if they want to participate.

      But I agree, it would be amazing to be someone that can help our culture realize that we’re not as “Other” or marginalized as they think we are.

    • I’ve been talking with both Scot and Alan about it. We’re trying to decide if it’s something I can/should do; as well as what they’re comfortable with if they want to participate.

      But I agree, it would be amazing to be someone that can help our culture realize that we’re not as “Other” or marginalized as they think we are.

Tell me what you're thinking...

